Etsy Statistics 2026: Sellers, Buyers, GMS, Fees, and Category Share

Source-verified Etsy statistics covering platform scale, seller demographics, fee mechanics, category GMS share, buyer cohorts, and Amazon Handmade comparison for 2025-2026.

Published:

September 18, 2026

Author:

Yi Cui

How Branvas works

1

Select products

Browse our catalog and choose the products that align with your brand vision.

2

Uplaod logo

Upload your labels, logos, and packaging designs to make the products truly yours.

3

Make sales

List products on your store and set your profit margins, we take care of fulfillment.

Join Branvas to explore our private label jewelry.

Table of Contents

Last updated: Q2 2026 | Sources: Etsy 10-K and 10-Q filings, Etsy earnings materials, Etsy seller research, Etsy policy pages, and Amazon Handmade documentation.

Most Etsy statistics pages repeat a few investor-deck figures, then stop before the numbers sellers need to price products, assess category risk, or compare channels. This reference closes that gap with source-scoped platform metrics, fee mechanics, seller-economics math, and direct disclosure limits, so a missing figure is not mistaken for a fact.

TL;DR: Etsy by the Numbers (Key Takeaways)

  • Etsy marketplace finished 2025 with 5.6 million active sellers, 86.5 million active buyers, and $10.4607 billion in GMS. In the latest reported quarter, Q2 2026, Etsy had 5.706 million active sellers and 86.969 million active buyers. 1 7
  • Etsy marketplace GMS declined 4% in 2025, but Q2 2026 GMS rose 7.5% year over year to $2.582892 billion. The recovery is meaningful, but it is a quarterly result, not proof of a permanent growth reset. 1 7
  • Jewelry and Personal Accessories is one of Etsy's six leading category groups. Etsy does not disclose its current individual GMS share, dollar sales, or listing count. The six groups together represented about $8.9 billion, or 85%, of 2025 GMS. 1
  • The common U.S.-seller core fee stack is a $0.20 listing fee, 6.5% transaction fee, and 3% + $0.25 Etsy Payments processing fee. Ads, shipping subsidies, taxes, currency conversion, and Offsite Ads can add materially to that base. 10 11
  • Etsy's 2024 seller census found 89% of surveyed sellers were one-person businesses and 29% said their broader creative business was their sole occupation. There is no current, public global distribution of Etsy seller profit or take-home income. 8

TL;DR: Etsy by the Numbers (Key Takeaways)

Platform Scale: How Big Is Etsy in 2025-2026?

Etsy marketplace's latest full-year baseline is $10.4607 billion in GMS, 86.5 million active buyers, and 5.6 million active sellers for 2025. GMS is merchandise value excluding shipping and net of refunds, not Etsy revenue. An active buyer made at least one purchase in the trailing 12 months; an active seller had a charge or sale in that period. 1

The latest filing is Q2 2026. Because Reverb had been sold and Depop was presented as discontinued operations, continuing operations reflected the Etsy marketplace in that quarter: $2.582892 billion GMS, $668.313 million revenue, 5.706 million active sellers, and 86.969 million active buyers. Etsy reported a 25.9% revenue take rate for that matching scope. 7

Etsy Platform Scale: Key Metrics at a Glance (2020-2025)

Year Active Sellers Active Buyers GMS ($B) Revenue ($M) Take Rate (%)
2020 Not separately reported for Etsy marketplace Not separately reported for Etsy marketplace Not separately reported for Etsy marketplace $1,725.6 consolidated 16.78% consolidated 6
2021 5.3M 90.1M $12.2, rounded $2,329.1 consolidated 17.26% consolidated 5
2022 5.4M 89.4M $11.8, rounded $2,566.1 consolidated 19.27% consolidated 4
2023 7.0M 92.0M $11.6, rounded $2,748.4 consolidated 20.88% consolidated 3
2024 5.6M 89.6M $10.9, rounded $2,808.3 consolidated 22.31% consolidated 2
2025 5.6M 86.5M $10.4607 $2,883.5 consolidated 24.20% consolidated 1

Scope note: The seller, buyer, and GMS figures in the table are Etsy marketplace figures where Etsy disclosed them. Annual revenue and take-rate figures are Etsy, Inc. consolidated figures, which can include other marketplaces during the relevant period. Do not divide Etsy marketplace GMS by consolidated revenue and call it an Etsy marketplace take rate. Portfolio changes involving Reverb, Depop, and Elo7 also limit simple year-to-year comparisons. 1 2 3 4 5 6

In 2025, consolidated revenue comprised $2.007 billion in marketplace revenue and $876 million in services revenue. Marketplace revenue includes required selling activities such as transaction, payment-processing, listing, and related fees. Services revenue includes optional services such as onsite advertising and shipping labels. 1

Mobile is increasingly important, but the metric has changed over time. Etsy reported that its app accounted for 45% of Etsy marketplace GMS in 2025, up from 42% in 2024, and approximately 47% in Q2 2026. Earlier filings reported broader mobile-device percentages, so app share should not be presented as a clean continuation of that older device series. 1 2 7

Etsy operates globally, but it does not disclose a comparable annual count of marketplace countries or country-level active users. The most useful current geographic measure is buyer GMS: 74% came from U.S. buyers and 26% from buyers outside the U.S. in 2025. 1

Chart placeholder: Etsy marketplace scale, 2021-2025. Line chart of active buyers and sellers, with bars for Etsy marketplace GMS. Attribute: Etsy annual reports on Form 10-K for 2021-2025. 1 2 3 4 5

Platform Scale: How Big Is Etsy in 2025-2026?

Etsy Seller Statistics: Who Sells on Etsy and Are They Making Money?

Active Etsy marketplace sellers were flat at 5.6 million at year-end 2024 and 2025, then increased to 5.706 million in Q2 2026. The 2023 count of 7.0 million is not a clean signal of an addressable-seller expansion because the company cautions that marketplace portfolio changes affected comparability. 1 2 3 7

Etsy's 2024 Global Seller Census offers a stronger picture of business structure than account counts. In an Ipsos-supported survey of 2,402 active-shop sellers in six core markets, 89% said they were one-person businesses, 97% operated from home, 80% identified as women, and the average age was 43. These are survey estimates, not profile data for every Etsy account. 8

The same survey found that 29% said their creative business, on and off Etsy, was their sole occupation. It also found that the creative business contributed 11% of household income on average. That is useful evidence of a heavily microbusiness-oriented seller base, but it is not evidence that 29% earn a full-time income from Etsy alone. 8

Seller Income Distribution

Etsy does not publish a current global distribution of seller profit, take-home earnings, or Etsy-only revenue. The closest independent public distribution located is a 2022 survey of 342 Etsy sellers by Bespoke Market Intelligence. It reports gross Etsy sales, not income or profit, has an undocumented recruitment method, and should be read as a historical directional sample rather than a 2026 marketplace census. 9

Annual Etsy gross sales band Share of surveyed sellers What the source supports
Under $1K Not separately reported The source reports only a combined under-$5K band. 9
$1K-$10K Partially observable: 15.50% at $5K-$9.999K The $1K-$4.999K portion is not separately reported. 9
$10K-$50K 17.84% $10K-$24.999K: 11.99%; $25K-$49.999K: 5.85%. 9
$50K+ 13.15% Sum of reported $50K-$99.999K, $100K-$249.999K, $250K-$499.999K, $500K-$999.999K, and $1M+ bands. 9
Under $5K 53.51% The only full low-sales band available from the survey. 9

The key point is not a fabricated "average Etsy seller income." It is that public evidence supports a wide, skewed gross-sales distribution and does not support a universal profitability claim. For an income benchmark, sellers need their own cost of goods, fulfillment, returns, ad spend, taxes, and labor model.

Etsy does not publish a current ranked table of active sellers by country. Statista's public description says most Etsy Inc. sellers are U.S.-based, while Etsy's seller census covered the United States, United Kingdom, Germany, France, Canada, and Australia. Neither source supports a precise global top-10 seller-country table with counts. 8

The Etsy Seller Economics Snapshot

Consider a U.S. jewelry seller with $25,000 in annual item GMS, 250 orders at a $100 average item price, and no shipping charge to the buyer. This is a worked pricing scenario, not an Etsy average. It assumes 250 initial listings or renewals, $8,750 in materials and packaging, $2,000 in seller-paid shipping, and $1,500 in onsite ad spend. It excludes labor, refunds, income tax, Offsite Ads, currency conversion, and shop setup fees.

Line item Calculation Annual amount
Item GMS 250 orders × $100 $25,000.00
Transaction fees $25,000 × 6.5% ($1,625.00)
Payment processing $25,000 × 3% + 250 × $0.25 ($812.50)
Listing fees 250 × $0.20 ($50.00)
Core Etsy charges Transaction + processing + listing ($2,487.50)
Materials and packaging Assumption: 35% of item GMS ($8,750.00)
Seller-paid shipping Assumption ($2,000.00)
Onsite Etsy Ads Assumption: 6% of GMS ($1,500.00)
Contribution before labor, tax, refunds, and overhead $25,000 less stated costs $10,262.50

The scenario's stated core Etsy charges are 9.95% of item GMS before advertising and fulfillment. The actual percentage rises if shipping is charged, because Etsy's transaction fee applies to shipping and gift wrap, and U.S. payment processing applies to the total sale price, including shipping and applicable sales tax. A qualifying Offsite Ads order can add 12% or 15% of the attributable order total, subject to the program's conditions and cap. 10 11 12

In our experience working with jewelry sellers who come from Etsy, one of the biggest surprises is how quickly platform fees and ad spend compress margins, especially for sellers who have not modeled their true cost of goods. Use a profit calculator to test the contribution margin at your real order value, shipping policy, and ad mix.

Etsy Seller Statistics: Who Sells on Etsy and Are They Making Money?

Etsy Buyer Statistics: Who Shops on Etsy?

Etsy marketplace active buyers fell from 92.0 million in 2023 to 89.6 million in 2024 and 86.5 million in 2025. Q2 2026 brought a modest reversal to 86.969 million active buyers, still below the earlier peak but 350,000 higher sequentially according to Etsy's shareholder materials. 1 2 3 7

The most commercially important buyer cohort is habitual buyers. Etsy defines a habitual buyer as someone who spent at least $200 and purchased on six or more days in the prior 12 months. In 2025, there were 5.9 million habitual buyers, roughly 7% of active buyers, but they drove about 40% of GMS. Etsy also reported 34.6 million non-habitual repeat buyers, defined as buyers who purchased on two or more days but did not meet the habitual threshold. 1

Etsy does not disclose a compatible marketplace order count, so a verified average order value cannot be calculated. Its 2025 disclosure of about $121 GMS per active buyer and roughly three purchase days per active buyer implies about $40 in merchandise GMS per purchase day, not per order. A buyer can place more than one order on the same day. 1

Platform-wide buyer gender and age are not published. A 2024 eRank survey of 1,000 recent U.S. Etsy shoppers found 50.8% female, 48.4% male, and 75.1% aged 30-69, but that convenience-oriented commercial sample is not a global Etsy demographic profile. 19

Etsy's app represented 45% of marketplace GMS in 2025 and about 47% in Q2 2026. Sellers should not turn that into a claim that 47% of sales come from browse rather than search: Etsy does not publish a platform-wide GMS or traffic split among search, recommendations, app surfaces, SEO, social, and paid channels. 1 7 14

Fourth-quarter holiday shopping is Etsy's recurring seasonal peak. Etsy also treats Valentine’s Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, graduations, weddings, birthdays, and other gifting milestones as merchandising opportunities. These are demand-planning moments, not publicly quantified category-level GMS allocations. 1 18

Etsy Buyer Statistics: Who Shops on Etsy?

GMS by Category: Where Is Etsy's Money Actually Made?

Etsy reported that six named leading category groups generated approximately $8.9 billion, or 85%, of 2025 Etsy marketplace GMS: Home & Living, Jewelry & Personal Accessories, Apparel, Craft Supplies, Paper & Party Supplies, and Toys & Games. Custom or made-to-order merchandise made up roughly 30% of total marketplace GMS. 1

Etsy does not publicly report the current individual GMS share, GMS dollars, or listing count for Jewelry & Personal Accessories. It also does not disclose equivalent current figures for the other individual category groups. That means a current claim that jewelry is X% of Etsy GMS or has X million listings needs a transparent, independently verifiable source. The commonly repeated estimates do not meet that standard.

Estimated GMS Share by Etsy Category (Most Recent Available Year)

Category Est. GMS Share (%) Listing Count (M) Trend (↑/↓/→)
Home & Living Not individually reported; part of 85% top-six bundle 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Named in top six; Etsy reports selected niche search trends, not category GMS growth. 1 18
Jewelry & Personal Accessories Not individually reported; part of 85% top-six bundle 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Occasion-led and niche signals are reported, not whole-category growth. 18
Apparel Not individually reported; part of 85% top-six bundle 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Etsy reports selective subcategory trends only. 18
Craft Supplies Not individually reported; part of 85% top-six bundle 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Top-six membership is current evidence; individual growth is not disclosed. 1
Paper & Party Supplies Not individually reported; part of 85% top-six bundle 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Top-six membership is current evidence; individual growth is not disclosed. 1
Toys & Games Not individually reported; part of 85% top-six bundle 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Top-six membership is current evidence; individual growth is not disclosed. 1
Vintage Not separately reported as a financial category 1 Not reported by Etsy 1 → Etsy defines vintage by age, not a separate GMS reporting line. 1

The table deliberately says "not reported" rather than inventing category estimates. Etsy does disclose more than 100 million items for sale across the marketplace. Dividing that lower bound by 5.6 million active sellers yields more than 17.9 items per active seller, but it is a platform-wide lower-bound ratio, not a Jewelry listing-density statistic. 1

A historical reference point exists, but it is not current. Etsy's 2020 annual-report category chart visually places Jewelry & Personal Accessories at approximately $1.6 billion, implying about 17% of Etsy marketplace GMS after a transparent calculation using rounded inputs. The chart has no printed bar labels, so this is an estimated reading of a historical first-party chart, not a 2025 or 2026 jewelry estimate. 6

The non-obvious implication: Jewelry may look like an obvious scale category because it is highly visible and has been a major Etsy category for years. The stronger evidence is that Etsy does not disclose current category size and its published demand signals are unusually specific: lab-grown diamond jewelry sales rose 139% year over year in Etsy's 2025 Valentine’s report, while its 2026 spring/summer report flagged gains in whimsical jewelry, wedding statement rings, and floral jewelry queries. That argues for winning a well-defined material, recipient, occasion, or aesthetic query, rather than treating generic "jewelry" visibility as a measurable advantage. 18

If product differentiation is the constraint, review a focused jewelry catalog before building an assortment around a broad category label.

Chart placeholder: Etsy category disclosure. Stacked bar showing the disclosed top-six category bundle at 85% of 2025 Etsy marketplace GMS, with a separate unallocated 15% segment. Do not assign the $8.9 billion total to Jewelry. Attribute: Etsy 2025 Form 10-K. 1

GMS by Category: Where Is Etsy's Money Actually Made?

Etsy Fee History and What Sellers Actually Pay in 2025

Etsy's company-level revenue take rate is not a seller fee rate. A seller's actual cost depends on payment country, listing activity, order value, shipping, discounts, advertising, Offsite Ads status, currency conversion, taxes, and optional services. The schedule below is a U.S.-seller-oriented operating view using Etsy's current public policy, with country-specific exceptions noted. 10 11

Etsy Fee Timeline

Year Transaction Fee Notes
2017 snapshot 3.5% Etsy's 2017 filing described the fee as excluding shipping. 16
2018 5.0% Effective July 16, 2018; the fee began applying to shipping as well as item cost. 17
2022 6.5% Effective April 11, 2022; Etsy's filing identifies the change from 5% to 6.5%. 15
2025-current policy snapshot 6.5% Applies to item price, shipping, and gift wrap; country and tax treatment vary. 10

Complete 2025 Etsy Fee Breakdown

Fee Type Rate Notes/Conditions
Listing fee $0.20 per listing or renewal Charged when published or renewed, whether or not it sells; a standard Etsy listing lasts four months. 10
Transaction fee 6.5% U.S. sellers: item price plus shipping and gift wrap; U.S. sales tax is excluded from the transaction-fee base. 10
Etsy Payments, U.S. bank account 3% + $0.25 per order Applies to total sale price including shipping and applicable sales tax. Rates vary by seller bank-account country. 11
Etsy Ads Variable CPC Auction-based and charged on interaction/click, with a seller-set daily budget. Etsy does not publish a platform-wide CPC or ROAS benchmark. 12
Offsite Ads, shop always below $10K threshold 15% of attributable order Automatically enrolled but may opt out; fee is subject to program terms and a $100 per-order cap. 10 12
Offsite Ads, shop has met $10K threshold 12% of attributable order Mandatory for the lifetime of the shop after qualifying under Etsy's rolling-sales rule. 10 12
Pattern $15 per month after 30-day trial Pattern sales do not incur an Etsy marketplace transaction fee, but Etsy Payments processing still applies. 20
Currency conversion 2.5% when required Applies when Etsy must convert between listing and payment-account currencies. 10
Regulatory Operating fee 0.05%-1.97% in named countries Not a standard U.S. fee; current rates depend on seller location and may be subject to VAT. 10

Etsy Ads should be modeled as a variable acquisition expense, not a fixed percentage. Etsy defines average CPC as budget spent divided by interactions and ROAS as ad-attributed revenue divided by ad spend. It recommends reviewing results over at least 30 days, but it does not publish a representative seller CPC or ROAS range. 12

Star Seller can support buyer trust, but it is not an organic-ranking shortcut. Etsy explicitly says Star Seller badges do not directly affect search ranking. It separately says that repeated failure to meet baseline customer-service standards can reduce search visibility, so the badge itself and the underlying service metrics should not be conflated. 21

Etsy Fee History and What Sellers Actually Pay in 2025

Etsy vs. Amazon Handmade: Platform Comparison Statistics

The useful comparison is constrained by disclosure. Etsy reports marketplace buyers, sellers, and GMS. Amazon operates a much larger retail ecosystem, but it does not publish comparable Amazon Handmade buyer, seller, GMV, or jewelry-sales figures. Amazon-wide statistics are not Handmade statistics. 1 22

Etsy vs. Amazon Handmade: Key Statistics Compared

Metric Etsy marketplace Amazon Handmade
Active Sellers 5.6M at Dec. 31, 2025 1 Not publicly disclosed for Handmade. 22
Buyer Base Size 86.5M active buyers at Dec. 31, 2025 1 Not publicly disclosed for Handmade. 22
Transaction/Referral Fee 6.5% transaction fee, plus payment processing and other possible charges 10 11 15% or $0.30 per unit shipped, whichever is greater. 22
Listing Fee $0.20 per listing/renewal 10 No listing or storefront fee for approved Handmade sellers. 22
Monthly Fee No universal monthly marketplace fee in this comparison; optional Pattern is $15/month. 20 $39.99 Professional plan is waived after the first month for approved Handmade sellers. 22
Primary Buyer Intent Evidence supports unique, custom, gifting, and milestone-oriented shopping; 30% of GMS was custom/made-to-order. 1 Amazon positions Handmade around genuine handcrafted goods, but publishes no program-level buyer-intent metric. 22
Jewelry Category Strength Jewelry & Personal Accessories is among Etsy's six leading GMS groups. 1 Jewelry & Watches is an eligible category; performance is undisclosed. 22
Return Policy Flexibility Sellers set listing-level terms, subject to Etsy cases, Purchase Protection, and consumer law. 23 Standard items generally have a 30-day return expectation; eligible customized items have an exception that FBA or Seller Fulfilled Prime can override. 24

On a simplified $100 item sale before taxes and shipping, Amazon Handmade's stated referral fee is $15. On Etsy, a U.S. seller would incur $6.50 transaction fee, $3.25 payment processing, and $0.20 listing fee, or $9.95 in those specified core charges. This is arithmetic, not a full profitability comparison: it excludes ads, fulfillment, taxes, returns, currency conversion, FBA, packaging, and labor. 10 11 22

For jewelry sellers, Etsy offers category-specific demand evidence and a large disclosed creative-commerce audience. Amazon Handmade offers its wider operational infrastructure, but personalized Handmade products using Amazon Custom must be seller-fulfilled rather than FBA-fulfilled. Neither platform's public data can prove which one will produce more jewelry sales for an individual shop. 1 22

Etsy vs. Amazon Handmade: Platform Comparison Statistics

Etsy Search & Discovery Statistics

Etsy has not published a total monthly or annual marketplace search-volume figure. Marketplace Insights gives sellers keyword-level search and listing counts for its stated time window, initially 30 days, while Etsy tests additional windows and fields. That is useful for listing research, but it is not a public all-platform search series. 14 13

Etsy also does not disclose a platform-wide percentage of sales or traffic driven by Etsy Search, app/browse, external SEO, social, Etsy Ads, or Offsite Ads. Shop Stats labels seller-specific sources as Etsy Search; Etsy app & other Etsy pages; Etsy marketing & SEO; Direct & other traffic; Social media; Etsy Ads; and Offsite Ads. The source categories are operationally useful, but a shop's mix cannot be generalized to the marketplace. 14

Organic search works in two stages: Etsy first matches listings to a query, then ranks candidates. Etsy publicly identifies relevance, listing engagement, recency, listing and shop quality, customer-service quality, shipping, translation/location/language, frequency capping, and Context Specific Ranking as important factors. It does not publish their weights or a formula. 13

The most actionable documented search signals are specific. Etsy says matching considers titles, tags, attributes, categories, descriptions, first photo, and reviews. Its Search Visibility guidance says average review rating, message response rate, and case rate from the past three months are included in ranking. Starting October 1, 2024, Etsy said U.S. listings with domestic shipping under $6 would be prioritized in search, subject to listed exceptions. 13

Paid Etsy Ads use designated ad space and a separate auction-based algorithm. Etsy says it does not sell higher organic placement for a fee. In other words, ads can buy labelled paid exposure but do not buy a better organic rank. 12 13

Chart placeholder: Etsy discovery surfaces. Flow diagram: buyer query or browsing mission → search/recommendation matching → organic ranking or labelled Etsy Ads → Shop Stats source categories. Attribute: Etsy ranking disclosures and Shop Stats documentation. 13 14

Etsy Search & Discovery Statistics

The Branvas Etsy Seller Readiness Framework

The Branvas Channel Viability Score (CVS) is a practical internal framework for deciding whether Etsy is the right primary channel, an acquisition channel, or only one part of a broader jewelry business. Score each dimension from 1 to 5 based on current evidence, not optimism about a future viral listing.

Dimension Score (1-5) What a Low Score Means What a High Score Means
Margin Headroom Self-score Your price cannot absorb a modeled blended selling cost once core fees, shipping subsidies, ads, returns, and occasional Offsite Ads are included. Contribution margin remains healthy after realistic scenario costs.
Differentiation Depth Self-score The offer is described by broad, interchangeable terms and is hard to position for a recipient, occasion, material, or aesthetic. The product has a visually distinctive and query-specific proposition.
Volume Realism Self-score Revenue targets require unexplained conversion, traffic, or order volume. Targets are grounded in a tested offer, actual unit economics, and achievable operational capacity.
Brand Ownership Risk Self-score A search-ranking, fee, or policy change could materially impair the business with no alternative demand source. Demand is diversified and the customer proposition is recognizable beyond a marketplace listing.
Off-Platform Readiness Self-score There is no plan to capture consented customer relationships, repeat demand, or a direct brand channel. A DTC site, retention system, and channel-specific offer plan are active or funded.

A total of 5-10 signals that Etsy should be treated as a test or incremental channel until fundamentals improve. 11-18 can support a measured Etsy operating plan. 19-25 suggests strong channel readiness, provided cash flow and fulfillment capacity also hold. The score is not a forecast; it is a discipline for surfacing the gaps that top-line marketplace statistics cannot answer.

If you're scoring low on margin headroom or brand ownership risk, it may be time to explore building your own brand alongside your Etsy shop. The how-it-works page walks through how sellers launch private-label jewelry brands without inventory risk.

The Branvas Etsy Seller Readiness Framework

Top Countries on Etsy: Sellers and Buyers by Geography

Public reporting supports a clear U.S. concentration but not a verified top-10 seller or buyer table. In 2025, 74% of Etsy marketplace GMS came from U.S. buyers and 26% from buyers outside the United States. This is GMS share by buyer location, not a buyer-count ranking. 1

Geography question What can be stated What is not publicly disclosed
Largest seller country Statista's public description says most Etsy Inc. sellers are U.S.-based. 8 Current country-by-country Etsy marketplace seller counts or shares.
Seller-country context Etsy's 2024 seller census surveyed the U.S., UK, Germany, France, Canada, and Australia. 8 A rank order of those six markets, or a top-10 seller-country table.
Buyer geography 74% of 2025 Etsy marketplace GMS came from U.S. buyers; 26% came from buyers outside the U.S. 1 Buyer counts or GMS shares for individual countries.
International selling 28% of surveyed sellers said they exported goods outside their home country. 8 The share of orders or GMS that crossed a border.
Localization and currency Etsy documents location, language, and translation as ranking inputs and applies country-specific payment processing rates. 11 13 A comparable annual marketplace country-coverage count or one global currency-support statistic.

For an international seller, the practical issue is not an unsupported country ranking. It is whether the shipping, duty, payment, currency, and return-policy stack works in the specific destination markets you choose. Etsy's public operating data does not provide enough country-level demand detail to replace that analysis.

Top Countries on Etsy: Sellers and Buyers by Geography

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q: How many sellers are on Etsy in 2025-2026?

A: Etsy marketplace had 5.6 million active sellers at December 31, 2025. Its Q2 2026 Form 10-Q reported 5.706 million active sellers. Etsy defines an active seller as a seller with a charge or sale in the prior 12 months, so the measure is not a count of unique legal businesses. 1 7

Q: How much does the average Etsy seller make?

A: Etsy does not publish a current global average or median seller profit, take-home income, or Etsy-only revenue. Its 2024 seller census found that the broader creative business contributed 11% of household income on average and was the sole occupation for 29% of surveyed sellers, but neither measure is Etsy profit. A 2022 independent survey found 53.51% of its 342 respondents reported under $5,000 in gross Etsy sales, with important sample limitations. 8 9

Q: What percentage of Etsy's GMS comes from jewelry?

A: Etsy does not publicly disclose a current individual Jewelry & Personal Accessories GMS share. It discloses that Jewelry & Personal Accessories is among six leading category groups that collectively represented about 85% of 2025 Etsy marketplace GMS. A historical 2020 chart supports only an approximate, caveated reading of about 17% for jewelry that year, not a current estimate. 1 6

Q: What are Etsy's fees in 2025?

A: For a standard U.S. Etsy Payments sale, the core public fees are $0.20 per listing or renewal, a 6.5% transaction fee, and 3% + $0.25 payment processing per order. Offsite Ads can add 15% for eligible shops below the rolling $10,000 threshold or 12% after a shop qualifies for mandatory participation. Rates and tax treatment vary by seller location and order conditions. 10 11 12

Q: How does Etsy compare to Amazon Handmade for jewelry sellers?

A: Etsy publicly reports 86.5 million active buyers, 5.6 million active sellers, and Jewelry & Personal Accessories among its top six GMS groups. Amazon Handmade confirms Jewelry & Watches is eligible and publishes a 15% or $0.30 referral fee, but it does not publish Handmade-specific seller counts, buyer counts, GMV, or jewelry sales. Etsy offers lower stated core transaction economics on a $100 scenario, while Amazon Handmade's approval, fulfillment, and return rules require a separate operational assessment. 1 10 11 22 24

Conclusion: What the Numbers Mean for Jewelry and Accessories Sellers

Etsy remains a large, global demand channel, with 86.5 million active buyers in 2025 and improving quarterly GMS momentum in 2026. For jewelry and accessories, its relevance is real but should be interpreted correctly: Etsy confirms Jewelry & Personal Accessories as a leading category group, while withholding the individual share, sales, and listing-density figures that would justify a broad-category forecast. 1 7

The practical response is to avoid building a plan around generic category size. Model the fee stack at the order level, position products around a specific material, recipient, occasion, or aesthetic, and judge ads against contribution margin rather than gross revenue. Etsy's search system rewards relevance, engagement, service quality, shipping, and personalization, not a simple paid-rank shortcut. 10 11 12 13

Treat Etsy as a valuable marketplace, not as the sole owner of your customer relationship. A healthy jewelry business can use Etsy to validate an offer and acquire demand while deliberately building product differentiation, retention, and direct-channel resilience beyond any one algorithm or fee schedule.

Ready to build a jewelry brand that isn't dependent on any single platform's algorithm or fee schedule? Branvas helps influencers and ecommerce sellers launch private-label jewelry brands with no inventory risk, handling sourcing, branding, packaging, and fulfillment. Explore how Branvas works →

References

  1. Etsy, Inc. 2025 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2026.
  2. Etsy, Inc. 2024 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2025.
  3. Etsy, Inc. 2023 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2024.
  4. Etsy, Inc. 2022 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2023.
  5. Etsy, Inc. 2021 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2022.
  6. Etsy, Inc. 2020 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2021.
  7. Etsy, Inc. Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarterly period ended June 30, 2026 - Etsy, Inc., 2026.
  8. 2024 Global Etsy Seller Census - Etsy and Ipsos, 2025.
  9. ETSY Sellers Survey - Bespoke Market Intelligence, 2022.
  10. Etsy Fees & Payments Policy - Etsy, 2026.
  11. What Are Payment Processing Fees for Selling on Etsy? - Etsy Help Center, 2026.
  12. How to Review the Performance of Your Etsy Ads - Etsy Help Center, 2026.
  13. Search, Advertisement & Recommendation Ranking Disclosures - Etsy, 2025.
  14. How to Use Etsy Stats for Your Shop - Etsy Help Center, accessed 2026.
  15. Etsy, Inc. Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2022 - Etsy, Inc., 2022.
  16. Etsy, Inc. 2017 Annual Report on Form 10-K - Etsy, Inc., 2018.
  17. Etsy, Inc. Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended June 30, 2018 - Etsy, Inc., 2018.
  18. Seller Trend Report: Spring and Summer 2026 - Etsy Seller Handbook, 2026.
  19. 2024 Etsy Buyer Survey: What Sellers Need to Know - eRank, 2025.
  20. Pricing and Fees for Pattern - Etsy Help Center, 2026.
  21. What Is the Star Seller Badge? - Etsy Help Center, 2026.
  22. Amazon Handmade - Amazon, accessed 2026.
  23. Refunds, Returns, and Exchanges for Sellers - Etsy Help Center, 2026.
  24. Policies for Amazon Handmade Returns, Refunds, Restocking Fees, and Cancellations - Amazon Seller Central, accessed 2026.

Related articles